Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks 2014 Wrap-up

How many books did you read and did you meet your own personal goal?
I read 125 books. I exceeded my personal goal. That is the most books I’ve ever read in a year, but not the most pages.

Most thrilling, oh my goodness, I want to read it again, unputdownable book?
The best book I read this year was Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler. I think it’s the only one I wished I could rate higher than 5 stars.

Top 5 favorite stories?
My top five favorites this year, aside from Calling Me Home, in the order I read them, are Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, Little Blog on the Prairie by Cathleen Davitt Bell, Michael Vey 4: Hunt for Jade Dragon by Richard Paul Evans, Lye in Wait by Cricket McRae, and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I did not choose any books that I reread this year because of course those are some of my favorites already!

Least favorite book?
I really did not like Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe.

New author discovery? New genre discovery?
I didn’t discover any new authors this year. I did discover that I don’t hate almost all classics. I really thought I did, but enjoyed many over the course of the year. In a way I suppose I “discovered” L. Frank Baum. I had read The Wizard of Oz before, but this year I read two other Oz books and really enjoyed them. At some point I want to read all the rest of the Oz books as well. He was a really good author.

One book that touched you – made you laugh, cry, sing or dance.
Definitely Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler. I think it made me do all of those things!

Are you ready to do it all over again?
Absolutely!

Do you have any goals to check out different genres or authors, read translated books or stories in another language for 2015?
In 2015, my daughter and I are both going to do a reading challenge she found somewhere. It requires a pretty large variety. My daughter’s already figured out nearly every book she’s going to read for the challenge. I’ll figure it out as I go along.

1 Comment

Filed under Annual Wrap-Up

One response to “Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks 2014 Wrap-up

  1. Congratulations on exceeding your personal goal. I’ve had Ransom Riggs book on my wishlist for quite some time. Maybe I’ll get it this year. I came across that reading challenge at rural revolution. She was basing some of the challenge off of 52 books. Happy reading in 2015!

Leave a comment