Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I wasn’t sure if I’d like Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. The premise is pretty dreadful. Hannah Baker committed suicide and two weeks later Clay Jensen gets a package of tapes where Hannah recorded her very long suicide note explaining to 13 people what each of them did that led to her decision. I figured she would be blaming them, but that’s not the way it is at all. What it is really saying is there are things people do – intentionally or unintentionally – that affect other people and there are sometimes repercussions we never could imagine.

I really liked the way the author wrote the story. Most of it is what Hannah said on the tapes, but in between what she said are Clay’s thoughts, memories, and conversations as he listens to them. Hannah’s words are in italics while Clay’s are in regular print making it easy to follow the back and forth. Clay’s part clarified some things and gave more information for other things and sometimes just made you feel so sad for Clay. I loved the ending. I won’t give it away, but I felt like Clay really learned something (something we all can take away from the book) from his terrible night listening to those tapes. I am surprised just how much I enjoyed Thirteen Reasons Why (so much so I literally could barely put it down and read it all in one day).

5 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2014: 15
Pages Read in 2014: 3582
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Realistic Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

