Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale

In this second Austenland book by Shannon Hale, recently divorced Charlotte, mom of two, travels to Pembrook Park for a two week stay at Austenland. Returning characters include Mr. and Mrs. Wattlesbrook, Miss Elizabeth Charming, and Colonel Andrews. This time, however, all is not well. Colonel Andrews plants an old murder mystery for the guests to solve and instigates games such as Bloody Murder. But, when Charlotte thinks she touched a real dead body, things at Austenland take a bit of a sinister turn.

I thought this second Austenland book was much better than the first. They are only loosely related (location and a few characters) so reading the first book before reading this one is definitely not necessary. Midnight in Austenland has creepy parts (but not too creepy), romance, a few surprises, and both Regency-appropriate and decidedly Regency-inappropriate events. The end is wonderfully sappy and sweet. A must read for fans of Jane Austen or Shannon Hale!

5 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2015: 22
Pages Read in 2015: 6770
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)
Applied to Category for Special Reading Challenge: A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet

Advertisements

1 Comment

Filed under Realistic Fiction

One response to “Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale

  1. Great review, thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s