The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain is a fun, light-hearted story of a boy growing up in a small town in the 1800s. It follows his life over a non-specified amount of time. He plays with his friends, he camps out on an island for a few days, he goes to church and school, he witnesses a murder, he hunts for buried treasure, he gets lost in a cave, and so much more.

I’ve never been a fan of Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, so I wasn’t excited about reading Tom Sawyer. As it turned out, I enjoyed Tom Sawyer quite a lot. I especially liked the chapter about taking oral examinations. My great-grandfather told stories about taking exams himself in very much the same way. I definitely recommend this book!

4 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2014: 119
Pages Read in 2014: 22,746
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

3 Comments

Filed under Classic

3 responses to “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

  1. I also enjoyed this book and wasn’t sure what to expect either. It’s a nice story. I haven’t read Huckleberry Finn yet.

  2. carolfoasia

    I read this on a plane to Hawaii in 2012, and I was laughing out loud a couple of time and drew great attention to myself. I will say that Huckleberry Finn has grown on me over the years. I read it for the first time in the early 2000’s, but I listened to a great reading of it the next time with my kids for school, and I liked that much better. It is free here: http://www.loudlit.org/works/hfinn.htm . I think the reader is an actor. So it really makes the characters come alive. By the third reading with a book club last year, I was a tremendous fan. I think Twain was so ahead of his time in thinking about race. Brilliant!

  3. Pingback: Pre-Reading | Smaller on the Outside

Leave a Reply

