The Adventures of Don and the White Animals by Meir Eshel

Don is a little boy, about 6 years old during the main part of the story, with a unique ability to communicate with animals. He is particularly connected to white animals. The story is told from the viewpoint of his father. Because of his abilities, Don gets into crazy situations such as being grabbed by a circus ape, becoming a jockey at a horse race (yes, at 6 years old), and getting kidnapped by angry circus performers.

The story is cute. My 6 and 8 year old boys enjoyed it. It is completely unbelievable (particularly the horse race part), but that’s okay. The problem I have with the book is the atrocious grammar and the many misspelled words. Often, while reading aloud to my sons, I had to go back and fix what I read because, as written, it made no sense. Tenses changed constantly within paragraphs, and sometimes even within single sentences. This was very distracting and annoying. The ending was quite abrupt and hinted of things to come. As soon as I finished reading, my 8 year old said, “I hope there’s another book!” As far as I can tell there is not. I got The Adventures of Don and the White Animals as a freebie over two years ago and it still appears to be the only book in the planned series.

2 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2014: 114
Pages Read in 2014: 21,785
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children

Leave a Reply

